Compared honestly · prices verified September 3, 2026

Hallow alternatives

Which Hallow alternative should you consider?

It depends. Seraph suits a quiet daily office on iPhone or the web, with two free guided prayers, the King James Bible, free reading plans, and no account. Another app on this page may suit you when you need what its section says it does better. Seraph+ is $59.99 a year, save 28% vs monthly, or $6.99 a month. The daily office stays free.

Seraph Prayer is a daily prayer and Scripture app for iPhone and the web. It keeps a short office on the device: two free guided prayers, the King James Bible, and reading plans. There is no account to create, no ads, and no prayer analytics. Optional Seraph+ opens the remaining guided prayers and Sacred Seasons, including Advent and Lent.

As of October 19, 2026, the public US App Store listing for Seraph Daily Prayer (id 6799218023) shows Seraph+ Annual at $59.99 and Seraph+ Monthly at $6.99. Pricing lists the same two prices for the web. Web and iPhone subscriptions are separate purchases.

Published . Updated .

People search this for three reasons, usually: the price, the fact that Hallow is unmistakably Catholic, or a wish for something smaller. Here are seven real options with every price and free tier read off the companies' own pages today — including the case for staying exactly where you are.

Our bias, declared: we make Seraph, which is the last app in every table below and the newest by a wide margin. Nothing here is sponsored and no app paid to be included. Every price and free-tier claim was read today off each company's own website, help centre or app-store listing, not off a review site — and where a company does not publish a number, this page says so instead of borrowing one from somewhere else.

One note on our method, stated plainly: Pray.com's checkout page builds its prices in JavaScript, so we loaded it in a real browser rather than reading the page source. On 4 September 2026 it read "Try 7 days free, cancel anytime" and "then $14.99/month", beside a benefits list including "Ad Free Listening". That contradicts their own help centre on two points, and we report the conflict rather than choose the convenient side — see the cautions under the table. If any of this is wrong or has gone stale, write to hello@seraphprayer.com and we will correct it.

First: when to just keep Hallow

Most pages like this one never say it, so let us get it out of the way. In our judgement Hallow is the most complete app in this category, and for a lot of people looking for an alternative, the honest answer is that there is not a better one.

  • You are Catholic and want it done properly. The rosary, the Examen, the Divine Mercy Chaplet, Daily Mass Readings, the Catechism, Fr. Mike Schmitz and Bishop Barron. No app on this list matches Hallow at being Catholic, and none of them is trying to.
  • You want the seasonal campaigns. Pray40 for Lent and Pray25 for Advent are community events with real momentum behind them, and Hallow's own comparison table lists both as subscription-only. That is difficult to replace with a smaller app.
  • You want a family plan. Friends & Family is $119.99 a year for up to six people.
  • You have not actually tried the free tier. It is not a token. Hallow publishes its own free-versus-paid comparison table, and it marks as included at no cost: free prayers and series, games, some music playlists, some Rosaries and the Divine Mercy Chaplet, and some Dailies. Their FAQ puts a number on it — the free version "grants access to over 1,000 sessions including most of our daily content (daily gospel, daily rosary, daily meditation, etc...)". Their App Store listing adds that free users get "our daily prayers (including the rosary) and the 9-day Intro Prayer Challenge". And their help centre states: "Hallow will always include free content for anyone who wants to pray." If the subscription price is your only objection, the free tier may already be the alternative you are looking for.
  • You cannot afford it and have not asked. Hallow publishes that they give "away free subscriptions to all clergy members and have a scholarship path for other people to request free subscriptions", and that "we give away one free subscription for every one that's purchased". Leaving without asking would be leaving something on the table.

If none of those five describes you, read on.

The seven, on price

US prices, September 3, 2026. Every figure is from the company's own pages.
AppMonthlyAnnualFree trialFamily plan
Hallow$9.99$69.99Yes — length not stated$119.99/yr, up to 6
Pray.com$14.99 on their web checkout — but their help centre says monthly is for US Verizon customersNot published7 days on the web checkout; 3 days, "can vary", in their help centreYes — invite up to 6 others; price not published
GlorifyNot publishedNot published7 days, stated for the Family planYes, up to 4 — annual only, price not published
Abide$9.99$39.99 (shown struck through from $69.99)7 daysNone published
Lectio 365FreeFreeNot applicableNot applicable
YouVersionFreeFreeNot applicableNot applicable
Seraph$6.99$59.99None — the free tier stands in for oneNone

Verified 3 September 2026 and re-checked 4 September 2026 against each company's own site and App Store listing; the Zendesk help-centre articles cited here were last read 3 September 2026. Sources: Hallow's help-centre article "How much does the subscription cost?"; Pray.com's help-centre articles "I downloaded the Pray.com app, am I going to be charged?", "Is Pray.com free?" and "How does the Pray.com free trial work?", plus Pray, Inc.'s own US App Store listing; Glorify's help articles "How much does Glorify Plus cost?" and "Do you offer a Family Plan?"; Abide's help article "How Much Does Abide Cost?" and abide.com/sub-selection; lectio365.com and the 24-7 Prayer App Store listing; youversion.com/bible-app. Four cautions. Hallow's own page notes that prices exclude sales tax and vary by country and by where you buy — website, App Store or Google Play. Their App Store listing currently shows both a "Monthly Subscription $9.99" and a "Monthly Subscription $10.99", which may be a price rise partway through rolling out. We quote the $9.99 their help centre still states, and flag the other so you are not surprised at checkout. Abide's $39.99 and the struck-through $69.99 are what their page showed today, a promotional price and not necessarily a permanent one. Pray.com's own sources disagree with each other about Pray.com. Their help centre says they "only offer annual subscriptions", with a monthly option "for Verizon users" only, and put the trial at "usually 3 days"; their live web checkout offered anyone a 7-day trial then $14.99 a month when we loaded it on 4 September 2026. The help-centre articles were last updated in 2022 and 2024, so we would trust the checkout on price and treat the help centre as the older document — but we are not going to pretend the two agree. Their App Store listing also shows a "Pray.com Premium Subscription $7.99" among its in-app purchases, and Apple does not display billing periods, so we will not tell you that is a monthly price. And Glorify genuinely does not publish a price anywhere; their pricing article's entire answer is to open the app, tap GET PLUS, and read the number in your own currency. Seraph's prices are our own.

The seven, on what you get free

Free tiers as each company describes them, September 3, 2026.
AppFree, with no paymentAccount requiredTradition
HallowFrom their own comparison table: free prayers and series · games · some music playlists, not Music Radio · some Rosaries and Divine Mercy Chaplet · some Dailies. Their FAQ calls it "over 1,000 sessions". Not free: the full Sleep section, audiobooks, Pray25 and Pray40Yes, explicitly — "You'll need a Hallow account to use the app, even if you don't have a paid subscription"Catholic
Pray.comTheir own list: Daily, Noon and Nightly Prayer · Bible in a Year with Jack Graham · Meditative Prayers · Sleep Psalms with Bishop T.D. Jakes · Stories of the Messiah · Heroes in the Bible · podcasts and sermons · the text Bible · communities and prayer requestsYes — sign up with an email you confirm, then skip the paywallBroadly Christian, evangelical lean
GlorifyTheir own list for a Basic account: Quote of the Day · Passage of the Day (read only) · Daily Devotional (read only) · Bible · Journal · Glorify Community · Explore, limited accessYes — "all you need to do is download the app and create an account"Broadly Christian, evangelical lean
AbideTheir own wording: "Daily guided meditation (shortest 2-min version)" and "A selection of sleep stories". That is the whole free tierYes — "Simply create an account, download the app to your mobile device, and sign in to begin"Broadly Christian, evangelical lean
Lectio 365The entire app. Morning, midday and night prayer every day · audio with the composed music or with it switched off, or read it yourself · downloadable up to a week in advance · an Archive that keeps devotionals available for 30 days afterwardsNot stated on their pagesDeliberately ecumenical (24-7 Prayer)
YouVersionEverything, with no ads. Without an account: "Download and read some Bible versions", "Start and complete 28 Plan days", "Complete Daily Refresh", "Discover churches near you". With a free account: all versions, unlimited Plans, Prayers, notes, highlights, badges, syncNo — but they say plainly that "many Bible App features only work if you have one"Broad, published by Life.Church
SeraphDaily verse · 2 of 12 guided sessions · the complete King James Bible, 1,189 chapters, bundled offline in the iPhone app · every reading plan · the streak flame with a one-day grace · opt-in reminder · 8 Illumination artworks, earned by progress and never for saleNo — no sign-up exists anywhere in the appBroadly Christian, KJV

Verified 3 September 2026 and re-checked 4 September 2026 against each company's own site and App Store listing; the Zendesk help-centre articles cited here were last read 3 September 2026. Sources: Hallow's "What are the benefits of the Paid Hallow Subscription?", which publishes a free-versus-paid feature table we have reproduced rather than paraphrased, plus "How do I access the free version of the app?" (stamped Updated August 3, 2026), Hallow's "Frequently Asked Questions!" and Hallow's own US App Store listing text; Pray.com's help articles "Pray.com Subscription Plans", "Is Pray.com free?" and "Signing up to Pray.com for free"; Glorify's "Do I have to pay to use the app?" and "How does Glorify work?"; Abide's "How Much Does Abide Cost?" and "How Do I Get Started With Abide?"; lectio365.com/the-app; YouVersion's support article "Your YouVersion Account" and youversion.com/bible-app. A note on staleness, since it cuts against us as much as anyone: Pray.com's subscription-plans article was last updated January 2, 2024 and its "Is Pray.com free?" article June 27, 2022, and Glorify's pricing article January 24, 2025. Those are the freshest first-party sources those companies offer, and it is why the "not published" cells above stay empty rather than being filled in from elsewhere. Seraph's row describes our own v1.0.2.

On ads, which is the least-discussed difference

Pray.com is the one to understand properly here, and it deserves to be stated the way they state it rather than as a swipe. Their own subscription-plans article marks Advertisements: Yes for the free tier, Yes for the Premium Subscription, Yes for the Family Plan, and No only for a fourth product called "Premium Subscription No Ads". Even on that tier, their page says the ad-free subscription "does not currently include the removal of embedded sponsor ads within some content itself", and adds that they are "actively working on optimizing ad placement". So on Pray.com, paying for Premium does not by itself remove advertising — you need the specific no-ads plan, and some embedded sponsorship remains. They document this openly in a public table, which is more than many apps do.

YouVersion states the opposite position just as plainly: "We give you everything you need to use YouVersion for free, with no limits and no ads." Hallow, Glorify, Abide and Lectio 365 make no advertising statement we could verify on their own pages today, so this page makes no claim about them either way. Seraph carries no ads on any tier.

Where each one actually fits

Pray.com — a large audio catalogue, and a price you have to work to find

A large audio library with a non-denominational American evangelical centre of gravity: James Earl Jones and Charlton Heston reading Scripture, Bible in a Year with Jack Graham, Sleep Psalms with Bishop T.D. Jakes, hundreds of Bible stories, church communities and prayer requests. The free tier is genuinely substantial, and their own help centre lists exactly what is in it.

Three things to go in with, all from their own pages. They state that they "only offer annual subscriptions", with a monthly plan reserved for US Verizon customers — so the monthly figure visible on their App Store listing is not a plan most readers can simply choose. They do not publish the annual price anywhere we could reach. And the ads situation above is real: Premium still carries advertisements unless you buy the separate no-ads product. Their trial, in their help centre's words, is "usually 3 days but can vary depending on the offering and promotion" — though their own web checkout offered 7 days on the day we looked. An account with a confirmed email is required.

Glorify — well made, but you cannot see the price until you install it

Contemporary, well-made, and the free tier is more substantial than Abide's: Quote of the Day, Passage of the Day, the Daily Devotional, a Bible, a journal, the community, and a limited slice of the Explore library. The catch is structural rather than sinister — the Passage and Devotional are read-only free, and audio is precisely what Plus adds, along with Faith Essentials and an expanded library their own page itemises as "76 Meditations, 44 Guided Prayers, 38 Worship Playlists, 25 Kids Stories, 23 Sleep Stories, 16 Courses, and More". Their free-tier article offers a 30% discount on the annual plan.

They have also added a Family plan: up to four members total, the owner plus three, annual only, with a seven-day free trial for the whole family — though their article notes it is available only to people who do not already have an active subscription. But you cannot learn the price of any of it without installing the app, because Glorify's answer to "how much does it cost" is to open the app and look. One naming trap worth flagging: the devotional app lives at glorify-app.com (and glorify.global). The unrelated glorify.com is a product-design tool whose own plans run from $19 to $97 a month billed monthly (checked 4 September 2026), and several comparison sites publish those prices by mistake.

Abide — the cheapest paid subscription here, and the narrowest free tier

If the price is the whole reason you are leaving Hallow but you still want a paid app, this is the number: $39.99 a year, shown today struck through from $69.99, with a seven-day trial and a stated 30-day full-refund window on the annual plan. That is thirty dollars a year under Hallow. They also publish a Lifetime Premium Subscription at a one-time $199.99, arranged through their support team and explicitly non-refundable — the only one-off purchase on this page.

Be clear-eyed about the trade. Abide's free tier is the thinnest here and they say so themselves: the shortest two-minute version of the daily meditation, and a selection of sleep stories. An account is required, and their own getting-started article notes Abide "is a mobile app only and is not accessible on computers".

Lectio 365 — start here if price is the reason you are leaving

Completely free, with no tiers, no subscription and no in-app purchases at all — we confirmed the absence of an in-app-purchase section directly in the US App Store listing rather than inferring it. Morning, midday and night prayer every day, read to you or read by you, with the composed music switchable off, downloadable up to a week in advance, and an Archive that keeps devotionals available for thirty days. It comes from the 24-7 Prayer movement, a UK registered charity (No. 1091413), and their site says the app "is funded entirely by donations from individuals and organisations passionate about helping more people develop rhythms of prayer".

It is also the closest structural match to what many people want from Hallow without the Catholic specificity, and it is honest about its sources: morning built on Lectio Divina, midday on the Lord's Prayer, night on the Ignatian Examen. Ecumenical by design. This is a more generous free promise than ours, and we would rather say so than hope you do not notice.

YouVersion — if what you wanted from Hallow was Scripture

The Bible App is free, has no subscription and no in-app purchases, and in their own words gives you "everything you need to use YouVersion for free, with no limits and no ads". Their site states 3,500+ Bible versions in 2,300 languages, with a Plans library nothing else here approaches. It works without an account, though YouVersion is candid that the unsigned experience is limited — their support article lists it as downloading and reading "some Bible versions", starting and completing "28 Plan days", Daily Refresh, and finding churches near you. If your Hallow subscription was mostly paying for Scripture and reading plans, this replaces that part entirely at no cost.

Seraph — a small, quiet, four-day-old app

Ours, presented last on purpose. Seraph went live on the App Store on August 30, 2026 and is at version 1.0.2 with zero ratings. It has no traction, no reviews and no track record, and against apps with years of iteration behind them that is a genuine reason to be sceptical rather than a modest aside.

What it is: free forever, with no account of any kind and no ads anywhere. Free means a daily verse, 2 of the 12 guided prayer sessions, the complete King James Bible bundled offline in the iPhone app, every reading plan, the streak flame with a one-day grace so a missed day does not erase you, an opt-in daily reminder that never prompts you on its own, and eight Illumination artworks that are earned by progress and cannot be bought at any price. Seraph+ at $59.99 a year or $6.99 a month opens only two things: the remaining ten guided sessions, and Sacred Seasons for Advent and Lent. It does not unlock reading plans and it does not unlock Illuminations, because those are free.

Three disclosures that belong on any page trying to earn trust. The web subscription and the iPhone subscription are separate purchases and do not unlock each other — buying one does not give you the other. The full offline Bible is the iPhone app; on the web, chapters you have already opened stay readable, which is not the same thing. And on privacy: no accounts, no prayer analytics as a public vow, prayer data stays on your device, the website counts cookieless aggregate page views, and iOS subscription status runs through RevenueCat under an anonymous ID. The one place an email is handled is restoring a web subscription in a new browser, which sends a magic link — so we will not claim "no email ever". Built by one person, under Myrmitis LLC.

Where these apps beat Seraph

The brand rule we hold ourselves to is that a comparison page has to name this plainly, so here it is without softening.

  • Lectio 365 and YouVersion are simply more generous than we are. Both are entirely free with nothing held back. Seraph gates ten guided sessions and Sacred Seasons behind a subscription. If "free with no tier above it" is the whole requirement, neither of them is us.
  • YouVersion offers 3,500+ translations in 2,300 languages. Seraph offers the KJV and nothing else. If you want the NIV, the ESV, the NRSV or a Bible in a language other than English, Seraph cannot help you at all.
  • Three of these companies publish a way to get the paid product free if you cannot afford it. We publish none. Abide offers "Reduced rates … upon request" and "One-year free subscriptions … to those who are unable to afford a subscription". Hallow gives free subscriptions to all clergy, runs a scholarship path, and says it gives away one free subscription for every one purchased. Glorify says every subscription purchased sponsors a free membership for someone else, with a waitlist to join. Seraph has no equivalent commitment published, and that is a real gap, not a rounding error.
  • Hallow, Pray.com, Glorify and Abide have years of content and iteration. Seraph is four days old with zero ratings. Their libraries are larger than ours by orders of magnitude and will stay that way for a long time.
  • Hallow, Pray.com and Glorify all have family plans. Seraph has none. Hallow publishes theirs at $119.99 a year for six.
  • Abide and Glorify publish a seven-day trial of the full paid product, Pray.com a three-day one, and Hallow a trial of unstated length. Seraph's free tier substitutes for a trial, but it is a different thing: you never get to try a paid session before buying it.
  • Abide publishes a one-time lifetime option at $199.99. Seraph is subscription-only, so there is no way to pay us once and be done.
  • Every one of the other six publishes a Google Play listing, which we confirmed today. Seraph is iPhone and web only. If you use Android, Seraph is not an option at all.

What is left that is genuinely ours is narrow: no account of any kind, no ads on any tier, no prayer analytics, and the whole KJV bundled offline on the phone. If none of those four is what sent you looking for a Hallow alternative, one of the other six apps above is the better answer, and we would rather you found it here than felt sold to.

Download Seraph for iPhone Try it on the web

Free to begin, with no account · Seraph+ $59.99/yr or $6.99/mo · auto-renews · cancel anytime
Web and iPhone subscriptions are separate purchases and do not unlock each other