Compared honestly · claims verified September 3, 2026

Prayer apps that do not require an account

Most devotional apps ask you to sign in before you can pray. A few genuinely do not. This is the list, read off each company's own privacy notice, help centre and App Store privacy label on September 3, 2026 — written by the maker of one of the apps on it.

Our bias, declared: we make Seraph, and Seraph is on this list. That is a reason to check us, not to trust us. Every competitor claim below comes from that company's own material, read on the date above, and is quoted rather than paraphrased wherever the wording matters. Where we are inferring rather than quoting, we say so in the row. If we have got something wrong, or your app belongs here and is missing, tell us and we will correct the page.

The short answer

The honest answer set is thin, and only two companies state the answer outright in either direction. Hallow says an account is required, in a sentence. YouVersion says you can use it without one, in a sentence — and then names what you give up. Everyone else has to be worked out. Lectio 365 does not use the word "account" anywhere we could find, but its privacy notice says it asks for no personally identifiable information at all, and its App Store privacy label declares no contact information and nothing linked to your identity — which together make "no account" a well-supported inference. Blessed gets there differently: its privacy policy describes creating an anonymous account for people who have not registered, so registration is genuinely optional, though the app is ad-funded and declares the second-broadest tracking of any app here. Seraph is the third app in that account-free group, and it is ours. Bible Gateway also lets you read without signing up, but holds highlighting, notes and sync behind a free account — as YouVersion does.

For the rest — Glorify, Abide, Amen, Dwell, and Pray.com — an account is clearly central to the product, and Pray.com's own instructions for reaching its free content start with creating one. But none of them states in writing whether sign-up is strictly mandatory at first launch. We have marked those unverified rather than guessing, because guessing is how a page like this becomes wrong.

The account question, app by app

AppAccount to use itWhat we read on their own pages, September 3, 2026
Lectio 365Not requiredInferred, not statedTheir privacy notice: "The Lectio 365 app does not require you to provide us with any personally identifiable information" and "will not collect any such information from your device." It does not say the word "account" — that inference is ours, supported by an App Store label declaring no contact info and nothing linked to identity. The notice does disclose analytics via Google Firebase, adding that "None of the information we collect in this way is personally identifiable." Free, with no in-app purchases, funded by donations to 24-7 Prayer.
SeraphNone existsOur own appThere is no sign-up screen to reach. You can check the visible half of this in a minute: install it and see that nothing asks you to register. One exception, stated here rather than buried: restoring a web subscription on a new browser sends a magic link, so an email address is handled in that one flow.
BlessedNot requiredRegistration optionalTheir privacy policy: "When you use our Apps or Services before registering an account, we will create an anonymous account to help you track your progress and your activity on the device you use to access our Apps." Registering is framed as a choice that adds cross-device sync. The app carries ads and lists a separate ad-removal purchase.
YouVersionUsable withoutMaterially limitedTheir help centre: "Although you can use YouVersion without an account, many Bible App features only work if you have one." Without one: some Bible versions, up to 28 Plan days, Daily Refresh, and finding churches nearby. An account adds all versions, unlimited Plans, Prayers, notes, highlights and sync.
Bible GatewayNot to readYes for the restReading is open — 200+ translations, no sign-up, though the free tier carries ads. A free account is what adds highlighting, notes and sync, and their site states that "a free Bible Gateway account is required to subscribe to and use Bible Gateway Plus."
GlorifyUnverifiedAccount is centralTheir help centre article "Do I have to pay to use the app?" describes the free tier as what you get "with a Glorify Basic account" — quote of the day, passages, and limited library access — and confirms you need not subscribe to use the app. They also publish a "How to create a Glorify account?" article. Whether sign-up is strictly mandatory at first launch is not stated anywhere we could find.
AbideUnverifiedAsks for name and emailTheir article "Why Does Abide Ask for My Email Address?" explains the email is used to find your account, reset passwords and let you sign in across devices, and states that "Abide only asks for your name and email address." They point iPhone users to Sign in with Apple and its Private Relay address if they would rather not share a personal one — a fair option to offer.
AmenUnverifiedSign-up and login existamenapp.org carries a "Log in" link and a "Get started" call to action pointing at a signup page. The App Store listing shows the app as free with no in-app purchases listed, published by Augustine Institute, Inc. Whether an account is required is not stated on any page we could reach.
DwellUnverifiedTrial-forward, but free tier existsDwell's listing leads with a 7-day full-access trial and a ladder of subscriptions from $59.99/yr solo to $109.99/yr family. It is free to download with in-app purchases, and there is a standing free tier — one narration voice, occasional in-house ads, and not the whole library. A "Sign In" link sits in their site header, but we found no page stating whether an account is required.
HallowRequiredStated plainlyTheir help centre answers it in a sentence: "You'll need a Hallow account to use the app, even if you don't have a paid subscription." They draw the distinction cleanly — "A Hallow account is how you sign in and get access to the app. A subscription is optional and gives you additional access to Hallow's premium content." The web app's first screen offers only Continue with Google, Apple, or Student Login.
Pray.comRequired in practiceNot stated in those wordsWe could not find a sentence saying an account is mandatory. What their help centre does say is that reaching the free content begins with making one: their instructions are to create an account, then tap the "Skip" or "X" button on the paywall to reach the free portion of the app. The account comes first; skipping only skips the paywall.

Sources and their limits. Every row was read on September 3, 2026 from the company's own material — privacy notices, help-centre articles and US App Store listings. Three cautions worth passing on. First, several help centres (Pray.com's, Glorify's and Abide's, all on Zendesk) refused our automated requests; for those we relied on indexed excerpts of the same articles rather than the rendered page, and we have quoted only wording that appeared in those excerpts. Second, "not stated" is not the same as "not required" — where a company is silent we have said so rather than filling the gap. Third, help-centre articles go stale and we could not reliably see a date stamp on every one, so treat all of this as a snapshot. If any of it has changed since we looked, the fault is ours to fix.

Why this matters more for a prayer log than for a podcast app

A reading history is mildly revealing. A prayer log is not. It is a list of what frightens you and who you are worried about — a diagnosis before anyone else has been told, a marriage going wrong, a name you would not say aloud, a doubt about the faith itself. People write things in a prayer journal they have never said to a priest, a pastor or a spouse. The record is closer to a therapy note than to a playlist.

An account changes what can happen to that record. Without one, the log has nowhere to go: it lives on a device you hold, and it ends when you delete the app. With one, it becomes a row in a database attached to a durable identity — and it then survives your device, your phone number and your interest in the app. That is not an accusation against any company on this page. It is just the difference between data that exists in one place and data that exists in two.

There is also a legal category worth knowing. Under UK and EU data protection law, information revealing religious or philosophical beliefs is a special category of personal data, held to a higher standard than ordinary personal information. Apple uses the same idea in its App Store privacy labels: its published definition of the Sensitive Info data type covers, in its own words, "racial or ethnic data, sexual orientation, pregnancy or childbirth information, disability, religious or philosophical beliefs, trade union membership, political opinion, genetic information, or biometric data." A prayer app is handling exactly that by definition. What varies is how much of it leaves the phone.

What each app's own privacy label declares

This is the single most useful thing a reader can check, and it takes about thirty seconds per app. Every App Store listing has an App Privacy section. We read all eleven on September 3, 2026 and transcribed them here.

AppUsed to track youLinked to your identityCollected, not linked
SeraphNothing declaredNothing declaredPurchases, Identifiers
Lectio 365Nothing declaredNothing declaredUsage Data, Diagnostics
YouVersionNothing declaredContact Info, User Content, Search History, IdentifiersFinancial Info, Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics
AbideIdentifiersContact Info, User ContentIdentifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics
DwellIdentifiersPurchases, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data, Sensitive InfoDiagnostics
GlorifyIdentifiersPurchases, Contact Info, User Content, Search History, Identifiers, Usage Data, DiagnosticsNothing declared
HallowPurchases, IdentifiersPurchases, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data, DiagnosticsNothing declared
AmenContact Info, IdentifiersContact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage DataHealth & Fitness, Diagnostics
Bible GatewayUser Content, Identifiers, Usage DataPurchases, Contact Info, User Content, Search History, Identifiers, Usage DataIdentifiers, Usage Data, Sensitive Info, Diagnostics
BlessedLocation, Contact Info, Identifiers, Usage DataLocation, Contact Info, Identifiers, Usage DataUser Content, Diagnostics
Pray.comPurchases, Location, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics, Other DataPurchases, Location, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics, Other DataNothing declared

Read from each app's US App Store listing on September 3, 2026, and from Apple's published definitions. Four things you need in order to read this table fairly. One: these labels are self-reported. Apple prints "This information has not been verified by Apple" on the listings themselves, and tells developers "You're responsible for keeping your responses accurate and up to date." Nobody audits them, and Seraph's row is our own submission, not an independent finding. Two: a label describes the whole app, including signed-in users, so data "linked to your identity" proves an identity exists, not that an account is mandatory. Three: "tracking" has a narrow legal meaning here — Apple defines it as linking your data with third-party data "for targeted advertising or advertising measurement purposes, or sharing data collected from your app about a particular end-user or device with a data broker." Four: declaring Sensitive Info, as Dwell and Bible Gateway both do, is not a black mark. For an app that handles religious content it is arguably the correct and candid answer, and the apps declaring nothing are not automatically safer — they are making a narrower claim about what they collect.

Note the gap this table opens up: Blessed requires no account and still declares tracking across four data types, including Location and Contact Info — more than any app here except Pray.com. "No sign-up" and "private" are different properties, and an ad-funded app can honestly offer the first without the second.

How to check any prayer app yourself, in five minutes

  1. Open the App Store listing and scroll to App Privacy. Look first at "Data Used to Track You" — under Apple's definition that means advertising linkage or a data broker. Then look at whether User Content appears under "Data Linked to You." On a prayer app, User Content can mean your prayers.
  2. Search the privacy policy for "account," "email" and "personally identifiable." Not the marketing page — the policy. The good ones answer the question in a single sentence in the "Information we collect" section. Lectio 365's notice is the clearest we read.
  3. Look for a "delete my account" article in the help centre. Its existence is proof that accounts exist and that a server-side copy of your activity exists with them. Its absence is weak evidence, not strong.
  4. Ask whether the app syncs across devices. Sync is the tell. If your prayers appear on a new phone after a fresh install, they were never only on the old one. This is a genuine trade-off, not a trick: sync is also how you avoid losing years of journalling when a phone goes in a river.
  5. Check what happens at the paywall, separately from the app. Some apps require no account to pray but do require an email to restore a purchase. Ours is one of them, on web. Ask the question about the payment flow specifically, because it is usually answered somewhere different from the app flow.

What these apps do better than Seraph

Lectio 365 has the better version of our own argument. Its privacy notice asks for no personally identifiable information, and it is completely free with no paid tier and no in-app purchases at all — funded by donations to 24-7 Prayer, a charity registered in England and Wales (no. 1091413). Seraph gates ten guided sessions and Sacred Seasons behind a subscription; Lectio 365 gates nothing. Its privacy label is also narrower than ours — usage and diagnostics only, with no purchase data, because there is nothing to sell. If your priority is an account-free daily office with nothing held back, Lectio 365 is the honest recommendation, and it has more than a decade of 24-7 Prayer's work behind it. Seraph launched days ago, with no ratings and no track record at all.

YouVersion is free, ad-free and enormous — 3,500+ Bible versions in 2,300+ languages and 710m+ installs by their own count, and their help centre puts it as "no limits and no ads." Seraph offers the King James Version and nothing else. Even YouVersion's limited signed-out mode gives you more translations than we do.

Bible Gateway lets you read 200+ translations without any account and adds 60+ genuine scholarly study resources on its paid tier — study Bibles, commentaries, dictionaries. Seraph does not attempt study tooling of that depth.

Dwell is a serious audio Bible and we have nothing comparable: multiple professional narrators across a range of translations, with a standing free tier and a 7-day full-access trial. If you want scripture read to you well, that is Dwell's craft, not ours.

Amen is a free Catholic app with no in-app purchases listed at all, published by the Augustine Institute, and its US App Store listing showed 4.9 stars across about 45,000 ratings on September 3, 2026 — worth knowing if the premise you arrived with was that serious Catholic prayer apps all charge.

Abide publishes a scholarship policy: reduced rates on request, and one-year free subscriptions for people who cannot afford one, on the stated principle that cost should never be a barrier to prayer. Very few apps in this category say that out loud, and Seraph has no equivalent published commitment.

Hallow, Pray.com, Glorify and Abide all offer libraries built over years, with production and range we cannot match. Hallow, Pray.com and Dwell all have family plans; we do not. If the account is not what you care about, several of these are simply better apps than ours today.

Where our own answer has edges

Naming the limits is the price of writing this page. Seraph has no account and collects no prayer analytics — that is a commitment we have made publicly, and prayer data stays on your device. But: on the web, restoring a subscription in a new browser emails a magic link, so we do handle an email address in that one flow, and it would be false to say "no email, ever." On iPhone, subscription status runs through RevenueCat under an anonymous identifier, which is what our privacy label's "Identifiers, not linked to you" row is. The website counts cookieless aggregate page views. The complete King James Bible is bundled offline in the iPhone app; on the web, chapters stay readable once you have opened them, which is not the same thing and we will not call it offline. And web and iPhone subscriptions are separate purchases that do not unlock each other.

For the avoidance of doubt about what the subscription is: Seraph+ opens the remaining ten guided sessions and Sacred Seasons, and nothing else. The daily verse, the first two guided sessions, the complete King James Bible, every reading plan, the streak and its one-day grace, the reminder, and all eight Illumination artworks — which are earned by progress and cannot be bought at any price — are free, with no account, and stay that way.

If no sign-up is the thing you came for
Download Seraph for iPhone Try it on the web

Free forever, no account · Seraph+ $59.99/yr or $6.99/mo · auto-renews · cancel anytime

Web and iPhone subscriptions are separate purchases and do not unlock each other

And if Lectio 365 fits you better, take Lectio 365. It is free, it asks for nothing, and we would rather you prayed.